Metal carport cost calculator

Permit size, closed sides and floor first. Then the sellers’ list prices at your size, and your quote line by line.

R105.2 permit · R309.2 sides and floor · three price lists · PPI

A metal carport is sold as a kit with a list price per size, and the list price is the easy part. Before a seller’s number means anything, three questions decide what you are actually buying: whether a carport of that footprint needs a permit, whether the sides you add keep it a carport or make it a garage, and whether the ground it will stand on is a floor the code accepts. This calculator answers all three from your own width, length and options under the 2021 International Residential Code, then sets your size against the list prices of three sellers read on October 24, 2026.

Measurements

Bare numbers use the displayed unit. Feet, inches and fractions also work: 12 ft, 7 1/2 in.

Prices: blank = not part of this job, 0 = included in another line. No price is prefilled.

Size and placement
in
in
Sides and floor
Attached: the house wall counts as one closed side.
Your quote
Priced on its own quote; no quantity is computed here.
Moves the entered total by the producer price index from that month to the latest one.
Calculated from your measurements

400 sq ft · permit expected · carport · floor meets R309.2

Permit: expected. 400 sq ft is over the 200 sq ft of R105.2 item 1, so the model IRC exemption for detached accessory structures does not apply.

Carport under R309.2: 4 open sides, at least 2 required. Closed sides counted: 0 of 4.

Floor: Concrete. A noncombustible surface, the material R309.2 asks for; the building official approves it.

20 ft wide · 20 ft long · 400 sq ftClosed sides: 0 (solid) · open sides: 4 (dashed)

11 listings from 3 sellers at 20 × 20 ft: lowest $1,695.00, median $3,305.00, highest $4,505.00. Sellers’ list prices on the day read, not an average of the market.

List prices at 20 × 20 ft, read 2026-10-24
SellerListingRoof styleList price
Viking Steel StructuresStandard carport, 20 x 20Regular$1,695.00
Viking Steel StructuresStandard carport, 20 x 20A-frame / boxed eave$1,795.00
Viking Steel StructuresStandard carport, 20 x 20Vertical$1,995.00
Coast to Coast Carports20x20 Two Car CarportRegular$2,195.00
Coast to Coast Carports20x20 Metal CarportA-frame / boxed eave$2,555.00
Coast to Coast Carports20x20 Metal CarportRegular$3,305.00
American Metal Buildings20x20x11 Steel CarportsNot stated$3,473.00
Coast to Coast Carports20x20 CarportVertical$3,605.00
American Metal Buildings20x20x7 Two Car CarportNot stated$3,866.00
Coast to Coast Carports20x20 Two Car CarportVertical$4,065.00
Coast to Coast Carports20x20 Closed CarportVertical$4,505.00
Your quote, line by line
Quote lineAmount
Kit (frame, roof, standard parts)Not entered
Delivery and installationNot entered
Side or end panelsNot entered
Certified upgradeNot entered
AnchorsNot entered
Pad or slab (priced elsewhere)Not entered
Permit feeNot entered
Other lineNot entered
Entered quote totalNo quote line entered

Does a carport this size need a permit?

Exemption from permit requirements of this code shall not be deemed to grant authorization for any work to be done in any manner in violation of the provisions of this code or any other laws or ordinances of this jurisdiction.

Permits shall not be required for the following: Building: 1. Other than storm shelters, one-story detached accessory structures, provided that the floor area does not exceed 200 square feet (18.58 m2).

IRC 2021 R105.2 Work Exempt From Permit, as adopted in Colorado (UpCodes viewer) ↗, read October 24, 2026. The same words were read in the Hawaii ↗ and Utah ↗ adoptions.

The permit test in the model code is a floor-area test, and a carport kit is sold by its floor area. Item 1 of R105.2, quoted above, lets a one-story detached accessory structure go without a permit as long as its floor area does not exceed 200 sq ft. A freestanding carport is a one-story structure built beside the house, so the item reads directly on it. The calculator multiplies the width by the length and compares the result with that limit.

Every listing read for this page is past it; the smallest footprint in the three price lists is 12 × 20 ft. The worked example, a 20 × 20 ft two-car carport, covers 400 sq ft: twice the limit, so under the model code it needs a permit. A detached 12 × 20 ft single-car kit is 240 sq ft and is still over. To stay inside the exemption the footprint has to shrink to something like 10 × 15 ft, which is 150 sq ft. The limit itself is included: “does not exceed” means a 10 × 20 ft carport of exactly 200 sq ft is still exempt, and one more inch of length is not.

Two conditions sit inside the same sentence. The structure has to be detached, and it has to be one story. A carport fixed to the wall of the house is not a detached accessory structure, so item 1 does not cover it at any size. The calculator returns “permit expected” for every attached carport, even a small one, and says why.

The first sentence of R105.2 matters as much as the list. An exemption from the permit is not an exemption from the code: an exempt carport still has to meet the rest of it, including the two R309.2 checks below. And the 200 sq ft figure is the model text. The page quotes it as adopted in Colorado and checked word for word against the Hawaii and Utah adoptions on UpCodes, but a city or county can amend the item when it adopts the code, and local rules on setbacks and lot coverage can sit outside the residential code. Read the result as “under the model IRC”, then confirm the adoption with the local building department before you order.

How many closed sides turn a carport into a garage

Carports shall be open on not less than two sides. Carport floor surfaces shall be of approved noncombustible material. Carports not open on two or more sides shall be considered to be a garage and shall comply with the provisions of this section for garages. The area of floor used for parking of automobiles or other vehicles shall be sloped to facilitate the movement of liquids to a drain or toward the main vehicle entry doorway. Exception: Asphalt surfaces shall be permitted at ground level in carports.

IRC 2021 R309.2 Carports, as adopted in Colorado (UpCodes viewer) ↗, read October 24, 2026. Same text in the Hawaii ↗ and Utah ↗ adoptions.

Sellers sell sides as options. A kit can come open on all four sides, with one gable end closed, with both long sides paneled, or fully enclosed with walls and doors. Each option is a line on the quote. R309.2 turns the count into a classification: a carport has to be open on not less than two sides, and one that is not open on two or more sides “shall be considered to be a garage” and has to meet the garage provisions of section R309.

The calculator counts closed sides from zero to four and subtracts them from four. Open on all four sides, as in the worked example, the structure is a carport with room to spare. Close two sides and two remain open: still a carport, at the limit. Close a third and only one side stays open, so under the model code the structure is now treated as a garage. A fully enclosed kit is a garage by the same reading, whatever the seller calls it.

An attached carport starts with one side already closed, the wall of the house. The calculator counts that wall when you enter zero closed sides for an attached carport, and tells you it did. One more paneled side then leaves two open sides; a second one makes it a garage.

The section does not define how much of a side has to be covered before it counts as closed. A gable end with a short panel under the roof, a partial-height side or a lattice screen is a judgment the code leaves to the building official. The calculator counts what you tell it; if a side is partly closed, run it both ways, and ask the official which way your design reads before you pay for the panels. A listing called a closed carport is a hint to check the count, not a ruling either way.

What the carport can stand on

The same section has a sentence about the floor: carport floor surfaces “shall be of approved noncombustible material”, with one exception at the end, “Asphalt surfaces shall be permitted at ground level in carports.” A kit can be set on concrete, asphalt, gravel or bare ground. The code sentence is narrower than that list, and the calculator reads it in three ways.

Concrete is a noncombustible surface, the kind of floor the sentence asks for, and the calculator marks it as meeting the floor rule; the building official still approves the material. Asphalt at ground level is allowed by name in the exception. Gravel and grass or bare soil are not named. Whether a compacted gravel bed counts as an approved noncombustible material is the building official’s decision, so the calculator does not answer yes or no: it returns “building official’s call”, which is what the word “approved” means in the code.

The floor check depends on the side count. The asphalt exception speaks of carports only. If three closed sides make the structure a garage, the garage floor sentence of R309.1 applies, quoted in the same adoptions without any asphalt exception, and the calculator switches the asphalt answer back to the official’s call with a warning. Try it on a 20 × 20 ft vertical-roof kit with three closed sides on an asphalt drive.

None of this prices the floor. A slab is its own quote, with its own measurements, and the calculator only carries its price as a line. If you are still choosing between paving the area under the carport and leaving it, the driveway cost calculator compares written paving bids zone by zone.

What three sellers list at the same footprint

Viking Steel Structures, standard carport prices for a 20 ft length, read October 24, 2026; the seller’s note: prices are for its North Carolina location
WidthRegularA-frame / boxed eaveVertical
12 × 20 ft$1,295$1,395$1,695
18 × 20 ft$1,395$1,595$1,795
20 × 20 ft$1,695$1,795$1,995
22 × 20 ft$1,895$1,995$2,395
24 × 20 ft$1,995$2,295$2,495

Three sellers publish prices that can be read by size. Viking Steel Structures prints a grid of standard carports by width, length and roof style; the excerpt above holds its 20 ft lengths. Coast to Coast Carports and American Metal Buildings print listing cards, each a configured product with a title, a size and a starting price. The calculator stores every card whose title contains the word carport, as printed on October 24, 2026, and every cell of the Viking grid. When you enter a size, it picks the listings with exactly that width and length, sorts them, and returns the lowest, the median and the highest.

At 20 × 20 ft the three lists hold 11 listings. The lowest is $1,695, Viking’s regular-roof price; Viking’s boxed-eave and vertical prices for the same size are $1,795 and $1,995. The median is $3,305, a Coast to Coast regular-style card. The highest is $4,505, a Coast to Coast card titled “20x20 Closed Carport”, which is a reminder that the price spread at one size is a spread of configurations: roof style, leg height, panels and certification move the price as much as the footprint does.

The roof-style filter narrows the comparison. Style is stored only when the seller’s own title or product address names it: vertical, regular, or A-frame and boxed eave, kept together because Viking’s grid heads that column Boxed Eave while its text lists the roof styles as Standard, A-frame or Vertical. Cards that name no style stay in “Any”. On the vertical setting, the same 20 × 20 ft footprint keeps 4 listings, from $1,995 to $4,505, with a median of $3,835.

Read the three lists with their own footnotes. Viking states that its prices are for its North Carolina location and subject to change by the manufacturers. Coast to Coast writes that the price “might vary with states and certification requirements”, and its cards carried a “Limited Sale 30% OFF” banner on the day read; the price stored is the one printed on the card. American Metal Buildings writes that its prices “vary by location and are exclusive of sales tax”. None of the three prints delivery or installation as a separate line next to the price, so the calculator does not assume either way.

The median is a position, not a market price. It says where the middle listing of these three catalogs sat on one day, at one size. A footprint none of them lists, such as 24 × 24 ft, returns no listing at all rather than an estimate drawn from neighboring sizes.

A published two-car band next to the listings

Eagle Carports, article titled for 2025, read October 24, 2026: one seller’s published bands, not listings
As labeledPublished band
Single-Car (Regular roof), ~12 x 20 ft$3,000–$4,500
Two-Car (Regular/A-Frame), ~20 x 20 to 24 x 24 ft$4,500–$8,500
Triple-Wide / RV Cover, ~30 x 20 ft+$7,500–$12,000+
Vertical Roof Upgrade+ $400–$1,200
Walls / Doors / Enclosures, partial or full+ $800–$3,000+
Site Prep & Installation (leveling, anchors, delivery)$0–$2,000+

Eagle Carports, a fourth seller, publishes ranges instead of a catalog. Its article prices a single car carport of about 12 × 20 ft at $3,000–$4,500 and a two-car carport of about 20 × 20 to 24 × 24 ft at $4,500–$8,500, with a vertical roof upgrade at $400–$1,200 more, walls, doors and enclosures at $800–$3,000 or more, and site preparation and installation from $0 to $2,000 or more.

Set beside the listings, the two-car band sits high. At 20 × 20 ft the 11 listings of the other three sellers run from $1,695 to $4,505, so the top of their range barely reaches the bottom of Eagle’s band. The page does not settle the gap, because the sources do not describe the same thing: a listing card is one configured product, and a band is a seller’s summary of what its buyers pay across options and sites. That is why the band is shown in its own table and never folded into the median.

Bring an older quote to today’s index

BLS producer price index PCU332311332311, Producer Price Index by Industry: Prefabricated Metal Buildings and Components Manufacturing (Index Dec 1981=100, Not Seasonally Adjusted, monthly), via FRED, read October 24, 2026: the last 13 months
MonthIndex
September 2025521.675
October 2025542.902
November 2025542.957
December 2025547.078
January 2026549.548
February 2026552.840
March 2026553.735
April 2026555.602
May 2026559.512
June 2026578.884
July 2026576.900
August 2026581.360
September 2026581.307

Carport quotes and price lists age. Eagle’s article is titled for 2025, and a quote saved from last year is still in a drawer when the order is placed. The calculator moves a dated quote with the producer price index the Bureau of Labor Statistics publishes for prefabricated metal buildings and components manufacturing. You choose the month the quote is dated; the tool divides the latest index by the index of that month and applies the ratio to the total you entered.

Two worked examples. A quote of $5,850 dated March 2025, when the index stood at 515.059, meets an index of 581.307 in September 2026: a ratio of 1.1286, or 12.86 % more, and the same quote moved by the index comes to $6,602.44. A $3,305 kit quoted in September 2025, at 521.675, becomes $3,682.79, an 11.43 % move. Much of that year sits in two steps visible in the table, from 521.675 in September 2025 to 542.902 in October 2025, and from 559.512 in May 2026 to 578.884 in June 2026.

The index is a producer price for a whole industry, from panels to building systems. It is not a carport price, it does not know your seller, and it can move while a seller’s list stays put, or the reverse. The calculator therefore uses it only to bring your own dated figure forward, never to produce a price, and labels the result as the same quote moved by the index. FRED updates the series monthly; the latest month here is September 2026, updated on October 15, 2026.

Read a carport quote line by line

A kit price is one line of the job. Enter the quote the way it is written, one line per field.

A blank field means the line is not part of this job; a zero means it is included in another line. The total is the sum of what you entered and nothing else. For example, an 18 × 20 ft regular kit quoted at $1,200, with installation at $0 and a $2,400 slab, totals $3,600; its kit line is below the lowest listing at that size and style, which is the question to ask the seller: what does this kit leave out? Dated October 2023, that total moves to $4,088.82 on the index, 13.58 % more. Those amounts are test figures, not market prices.

The calculator never fills a price field from the listings. A listing shows what one seller printed for one configuration; your quote shows what your carport costs, on your ground, with your sides. For the cost of a new metal roof on the house itself, the metal roof cost calculator works the same way, line by line against a measured area.

Metal carport cost questions

How much does a 20x20 metal carport cost?

The three price lists read on October 24, 2026 hold 11 listings at 20 × 20 ft, from $1,695 to $4,505, with a median of $3,305. Viking’s grid prices the size at $1,695 regular, $1,795 boxed eave and $1,995 vertical, for its North Carolina location. At 400 sq ft a detached 20 × 20 is over the R105.2 limit, so expect a permit under the model IRC.

How much does a two-car metal carport cost?

Eagle Carports publishes $4,500–$8,500 for a two-car carport of about 20 × 20 to 24 × 24 ft. The listings of the three other sellers at 20 × 20 ft run from $1,695 to $4,505. The band summarizes options and sites; a listing is one configuration. Enter your size in the calculator to see the listings for it.

What is the average cost of a metal carport?

This page does not compute an average, because the prices behind it are list prices of different configurations, not a sample of what buyers paid. It shows the lowest, median and highest listing at your exact size; at 20 × 20 ft the median of 11 listings is $3,305. The size drives the comparison more than any average would.

How much does it cost to build a metal carport?

The kit is one line. Delivery and installation, panels, a certified upgrade, anchors, a pad, a permit and site work are the others. Eagle Carports prints site preparation and installation at $0–$2,000 or more. Enter each line of your quote in the calculator; it sums only what you enter.

Is it cheaper to build a carport or buy a metal one?

None of the sources read for this page prices a site-built carport at the same size as a kit, so the page does not answer the price question. The code checks are the same either way: R105.2 looks at floor area and placement, and R309.2 at open sides and the floor, not at whether the frame came in a kit.

Do I need a permit for a 20x20 carport?

Under the model IRC, yes. A 20 × 20 ft carport covers 400 sq ft, and R105.2 item 1 exempts only one-story detached accessory structures up to 200 sq ft. An attached carport is outside that item at any size. Your city or county may have amended the item, so confirm with the local building department.

What changes for a carport attached to the house?

Two things change in the checks. R105.2 item 1 covers detached structures only, so an attached carport is expected to need a permit whatever its size. And the house wall counts as one closed side under R309.2, so a single paneled side leaves two open sides and a second one makes it a garage. None of the listings read is titled as an attached carport.

What changes when a metal carport has sides?

The price and the classification. Eagle Carports prints walls, doors and enclosures at $800–$3,000 or more on top of the carport. Under R309.2, a carport must stay open on at least two sides; with three or four closed sides it is treated as a garage and the garage provisions apply. Set the number of closed sides in the calculator to see which you have.

How much does a 24x24 carport cost?

None of the three price lists read holds a 24 × 24 ft listing, so the calculator returns no listing at that size rather than an estimate. Viking lists 24 × 20 and 24 × 25 ft instead, and Eagle Carports’ two-car band of $4,500–$8,500 reaches 24 × 24 ft. At 576 sq ft a detached carport of that size is over the R105.2 limit.

Why do metal carport prices change from one place to another?

The sellers say so in their own footnotes. Viking prices its grid for its North Carolina location. Coast to Coast writes that prices might vary with states and certification requirements. American Metal Buildings writes that its prices vary by location and exclude sales tax. A list price read on this page is a starting point for a quote at your address.

Is a metal carport kit price the price of the finished carport?

No. A listing is the price of one configured kit. The pad, the permit fee, sales tax where it applies, panels and a certified upgrade can each be a separate line, and none of the three price lists read prints delivery or installation as its own line. The calculator keeps the kit and each of those lines apart, then adds them.

How does this metal carport cost estimator work?

Enter the width, length, placement, number of closed sides, floor and roof style. The tool returns the permit check, carport or garage, and the floor check, then the lowest, median and highest list price at that exact size. Type your quote lines to sum them, and pick the quote month to move the total by the producer price index.

Read the result with its boundaries